‘The Bible in Australia’ wins 2019 NSW Premier’s History Prize

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2019 NSW Premier’s History Awards.

The awards recognise the achievements of Australian historians whose work sets the standards for historical research and publication.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian MP said, “These awards celebrate the great achievements of Australian historians who provide compelling insights into our past and allow the stories of our nation to be retold for generations to come.”

This year’s winner of the Australian History Prize was The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History by Meredith Lake.

The panel of judges praised the work for being “[f]ormidably researched yet carrying its scholarship with an enviable lightness of touch”.

The full list of 2019 winners can be viewed below:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History by Meredith Lake (NewSouth Publishing)

General History Prize ($15,000)

Sea People by Christina Thompson (HarperCollins Publishers)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Cage of Ghosts by Jon Rhodes (Darkwood)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

The Upside-down History of Down Under by Alison Lloyd and Terry Denton (Penguin Random House Australia)

Digital History Prize ($15,000)

The Killing Times by Lorena Allam, Nick Evershed, Paul Daley, Andy Ball, Ciaran O’Mahon, Jeremy Nadel and the University of Newcastle Colonial Massacres Research Team (Guardian Australia)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply