Shortlists for 2022 NSW Premier’s History Awards

The State Library of NSW announced on 8 August the shortlists for the NSW Premier’s History Awards. The awards recognise distinguished achievement by Australian historians.

Eight judges considered 168 entries across five prize categories, with $75,000 in prize money to be awarded. The entries in the Australian History Prize and the NSW Community and Regional History Prize reflect growing interests in Australia’s relationship with the Pacific and Southeast Asia, and the impact of colonisation on Indigenous Australians and our environment.

Shortlisted for the Australian History Prize ($15,000) are: Alexis Bergantz, French Connection: Australia’s Cosmopolitan Ambitions; Christine Helliwell, Semut: The Untold Story of a Secret Australian Operation in WWII Borneo; and Ian Hoskins, Australia and the Pacific: A History.

Shortlisted for the NSW Community and Regional Prize ($15,000) are: Richard Egan, Power and Dysfunction: The New South Wales Board for the Protection of Aborigines 1883-1940; Stephen Gapps, Gudyarra: The First Wiradyuri War of Resistance – The Bathurst War, 1822-1824; and Kate Holden, The Winter Road: A Story of Legacy, Land and a Killing at Croppa Creek.

Shortlisted for the Digital History Prize ($15,000) are: Katherine Biber and Aunty Loretta Parsley, The Last Outlaws; Alec Morgan and Tiriki Onus, Ablaze; and Michael Williams, Chinese Australian History in 88 Objects.

Shortlisted for General History Prize ($15,000) are: Andrew Fitzmaurice, King Leopold’s Ghostwriter: The Creation of Persons and States in the Nineteenth Century; David Jenkins, Young Soeharto: The Making of a Soldier 1921-1945; and Mina Roces, The Filipino Migration Experience: Global Agents of Change.

Shortlisted for the Young People’s History Prize ($15,000): Emily Gale and Nova Weetman, Elsewhere Girls; Katrina Nannestad, Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief; and Aunty Shaa Smith, Neeyan Smith, Uncle Bud Marshall with Yandaarra including Sarah Wright, Lara Daley and Paul Hodge, The Dunggiirr Brothers and the Caring Song of the Whale.

The RAHS wishes to congratulate all the shortlisted entries across the five prizes. The winners will be announced on Friday 2 September at a free event at the State Library of NSW from 6pm. To find out more and to read the judges’ comments, visit the State Library of website.