‘People of the River’ wins 2021 NSW Premier’s History Award

Congratulations to Grace Karskens who was awarded the NSW Premier’s History Award in the Australian History Prize category for her book People of the River: Lost Worlds of Early Australia.

People of the River traces the histories of Aboriginal people and settlers on Dyarubbin, the Hawkesbury-Nepean River, from Deep Time through to the nineteenth century.

The judges’ panel said the book ‘is an impressive reflection on the pivotal place river landscapes played in the early history of Australia … it is a work of rigorous scholarship that seamlessly integrates different historical perspectives’.

Grace Karskens presented an RAHS/ISAA Lecture in April 2021 that was based on her research from the book, titled The Real Sacred River: Truth-Telling and the Power of Regional Histories.

People of the River is published by Allen & Unwin and can be purchased from the publisher’s website or one of your favourite bookstores.

The full list of 2021 winners can be viewed below:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

People of the River: Lost Worlds of Early Australia by Grace Karskens (Allen & Unwin)

Digital History Prize ($15,000)

FREEMAN by Laurence Billiet (General Strike and Matchbox Pictures)

General History Prize ($15,000)

The Wardian Case: How a Simple Box Moved Plants and Changed the World by Luke Keogh (University of Chicago Press and Kew Publishing)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Landscapes of Our Hearts: Reconciling People and Environment by Matthew Colloff (Thames & Hudson Australia)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

Tell Me Why For Young Adults by Archie Roach (Simon & Schuster)