History Council of NSW Awards and Prizes

The History Council of NSW’s program of prizes and awards foster excellence in Australian historical writing, showcase and reward best practice, and advance and promote public understanding and appreciation of history.

There a number of yearly awards and prizes outlined on the History Council of NSW website (and below) totalling $6,500 in prize money.

Aboriginal History Prize – Encourages students and other beginning historians (up to post-doctoral career) in the writing of Australian Aboriginal history, including Torres Strait Islander history, from original sources. The winner will receive a $1,000 prize.
Deen De Bortoli Award for Applied History – Generously funded by the De Bortoli family, the purpose of the award is to encourage historians writing Australian political, social, cultural and environmental history to approach their subjects in ways that use the past to inform contemporary concerns and issues. The winner will receive a citation and a prize of $5,000.
Max Kelly Medal – The Max Kelly Medal plus a prize of $500, generously donated by Geoffrey Jones, is awarded annually to a ‘beginning’ historian for a work of excellence in any aspect of Australian history.

All nominations and submissions for the  awards and prizes must be made by 31 March 2017 and the winners are announced at the Annual History Lecture in September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.